#MoreInCommon album for HOPE not hate

#MoreInCommon is a fantastic compilation album out soon in support of the UK charity HOPE not hate. We find out more from the organiser and get a taste of some of the tunes, a few of them from artists we’ve featured on Kitmonsters. You can pre-order the release on Bandcamp.

Artwork by Swci Delic


#MoreInCommon is the album title, but also the name of a national campaign to bring communities back together. The album is the brainchild of Music PR Simon Tucker who says the toxic nature of the Referendum debate has unleashed visceral hatred but that this is not the Britain we know and love, and that thugs do not speak for the vast majority of people in the country.

He says a host of diverse artists kindly donated songs to help raise much needed funds and exposure for the charity, and this proves that whatever your background, whatever form your art takes, we can all join together and unite to celebrate our diversity.

Contributing artists include:

Beak>, Chris and Cosey, Datblygu, Thought Forms, The Membranes, Helen McCookerybook, deux furieuses, Pulco, The Rainkings, Love & the Family Tree, Tired Arms, Mwstard, The Tramways, We’re No Heroes, Hotel De Salto, Adwaith, Ysgol Sul, Graingerboy, Ela Orleans, Owl Biro, Climbing Trees, Anhrefyn, Ani Glas, FFUG, Feral Five, All Hail Hyena, Fran’s Word Salad, Jamie Morrison, Jupiter C, Lippy Kid, William Gray, Moon Gangs, Vinna Bee, Sheer Zed, Quiet Noise, Demento, Frenchbloke & Soundhog, Bloodflower, Repo Man, Radio Europa, Chick Quest, Fresh Snow, Kevin Pearce + over 30 other artists.

deux furieuses’ track ‘This Is A Red Line’ is a compelling unreleased song recorded during their ‘Tracks of Wire’ album sessions with producer Rob Ellis. Their blistering debut was dubbed an album of the year.

Simon described how the compilation came about:

“After the Referendum I was shocked to see all the vitriol that was being displayed on social media and the news. People who I respected were spouting such hateful views that it would make me really angry. I got so sick of shouting into the void and arguing on social media that I decided to contact HOPE not hate to see if I could get involved.

They suggested I start up a branch of the charity in Carmarthen which I have done. However, I needed to do more so I had the idea of utilising the contacts and friends I have made over the years in the music industry to see if they would be up for donating songs to the album.

I was overwhelmed by the response I got (must thank Twitter for this) and I am so excited by this album. A lot of the people involved are in my favourite bands like Beak>, Thought Forms (Invada have been great) Chris and Cosey and Datblygu so to get them involved was a great thrill.”

Tracks include ‘The Sea’, a beautiful bitter-sweet song from Helen McCookerybook, who is an amazing musician - as a solo artist, with Helen and the Horns, and The Chefs - and is also the author of ‘The Lost Women of Rock Music’.

It was important to include newer artists too said Simon:

“I also wanted to include a lot of up and coming and independent artists who many people may not know and I hope by their inclusion on the album it gives them some great exposure as they are all fantastic and deserved to be heard by as many people as possible. Every penny made from the album will go to the charity.”

‘Scream’ is the powerful first release from spoken word artist Equinox. The track features Welsh D.I.Y. artist Pulco, and will also be included on the debut Equinox album ‘It’s Hard To Be Happy When Your Head Is Full Of Sin’.

Nick Ryan of HOPE not hate said:

“We’re delighted that Simon has brought together so many artists in support of our work. #MoreInCommon was our response to Jo Cox’s death and the divisions and disunity which emerged during the Referendum process. We’ve had a fantastic response so far, and with the support of this new album – alongside others who’ve so kindly donated their money and time to HOPE not hate – we’ll be able to continue that effort well into the future.”

Our final taster is from electropunk duo Feral Five, who contributed cracking dance track ‘VOID’.

  • The album is available to download from Bandcamp from 28th October, and if you pre-order now you get 10 tracks straight away.